Functions of the United Nations

Essay by swarnamaliHigh School, 10th gradeA, July 2010

download word file, 3 pages 0.0

Functions of the United Nations

The United Nations is an international body that was formed in 1945 after World War II. The United Nations was formed to replace the League of Nations. Its primary objectives includes; stopping wars between countries and to providing a platform for dialogue. It contains multiple subsidiary organizations to carry out its missions.

The United Nations contains 192 member states. - (This includes nearly every recognised sovereign state in the world.)

The United Nations System is separated into five different bodies. These are the General Assemble, The Security Council, The Economic and Social Council, Secretariat and the International Court of Justice. - (The Trusteeship Council is not included in this list because its operations were suspended in 1994 upon the independence of Palau.

Out of these five organs, four are located in New York City on international territory known as the United Nations Headquarters. The International Court of Justice is located in The Hague.

However, there exists many other major United Nations agencies in other parts of the world, such as; Geneva, Vienna and Nairobi.

The United Nations has six official languages that are used in intergovernmental meetings and documents. The six official languages of the United Nations are: English, French, Spanish, Russian, Chinese and Arabic. However, the Secretariat uses only the two languages of English and French.

General Assembly

-The General Assembly is a big meeting at which every member state of the UN is represented. The General Assembly decides how the UN will spend its budget and makes decisions on world issues. To make a decision or pass a resolution, two thirds of the member states must vote in favour.

The Secretariat

-There are people working for the UN in many parts of the world and there are UN offices in most countries. The...